Read, Debate: Engage.


Officially the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, also known as Burma, is a Southeast Asian country bordering Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand. 

From 1962 to 2011, Myanmar was under the rule of an oppressive military group. Under its rule and the generals who controlled the country, Myanmar citizens were subject to severe oppression and ramped human rights violations. In 2015 the country went through elections following the dismantling of the military rule that began in 2011. Aung San Suu Kyi's government went into power. However since 2017, military attacks against alleged terrorists in Rakhine State have forced more than half a million Muslim Rohingyas out of the country in a violent operation of ethnic cleansing.  

Most media outlets are still controlled by the state and media freedom has reportedly not been a priority for the current government.